The first public building on the site and the first place of worship in Eumundi was the Salvation Army Hall erected in 1893.
Over time the congregation grew and soon cramped the small building which was relocated to acreage close to town to make way for new Methodist Church built in 1911.
The new church built with contributions from many parishioners was constructed of locally cut and milled timber: crows ash (floor & weatherboards) and pine (walls and ceilings). The building had a number of interesting features – a sloping floor, gas lighting, steel reinforcing, ornate fretwork and hopper style windows.
The church has undergone many changes over the years
The original Eumundi Police Cells in Napier Road were relocated in late 2005 with major additions and refurbishment of the museum precinct completed in 2006. Also in 2006 the then Eumundi Museum was combined with the Eumundi Information Office and was rebranded as Discover Eumundi Heritage and Visitor Centre.
In 2015 a new building was added at the rear of Discover Eumundi - a multi purpose arts space called Wan'din'in. For more details on the arts space CLICK HERE
The heritage collection has over 3500
photographs from the late 1800's to today. Many have come to the Centre from families who have lived in and around Eumundi from the 1880's.
There are over 140 files at the Centre on what we call 'Eumundi Families'. Many people contact the Centre to find out what information is held on these families.
Most of the objects on display and in storage at the Centre were owned at one time by 'Eumundi Families' and were donated with information on when they were used and who by.